The Many Uses of Castile Soap

Posted: January 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

Castile soap is made from pure oils.  I love the short and simple ingredient list on my Dr. Bronner’s Baby Mild castile soap: Water, Saponified Organic Coconut & Organic Olive Oils (w/Retained Glycerin), Organic Hemp Oil, Organic Jojoba Oil, Citric Acid, Vitamin E.  It also comes in many different scents, and is scented with essential oils, like citrus, eucalyptus and lavender.

I have found castile soap at Target as well as my local health food store.  But the best prices and selection can usually be found online at Amazon and several other online stores.

The reason castile soap is so great is that it is so multi-functional.  Because you can use it for so many different things, it’s one more way to help you simplify your personal care products, and green cleaning routine.


Here’s what I use it for:

  • Body Wash – It just takes a little squirt on one of those bath poofs and you have tons of soapy lather in the shower.  And the citrus scent is so energizing – it’s great for helping me wake up in the morning.  I’ve been using it full strength in the shower, but I think I’m going to try to dilute it because it’s so concentrated and that will help it stretch even farther!
  • Shaving “cream” – I was never a big shaving cream user.  I would just use my regular body wash, so this isn’t that big of a difference, but I do really like shaving with castile soap.  It has a lot of lather and because it’s made out of oils, I feel like my razors slides better than when I was just using regular body wash.  Also, I feel like it’s pretty moisturizing and haven’t needed to use lotion much this winter.
  • Baby Wash – This also works great as a head to toe baby wash.  You do have to be a little careful with it around their eyes because it’s not tear free, but especially if you dilute it, it shouldn’t be too much of a problem.  You can also squirt it in the bathtub to create a bubble bath for your kiddos. The bubbles won’t last as long as traditional bubble bath, but it’s still fun for them.
  • Hand Soap – Use a foaming soap dispenser and fill it up with water and then add a few squirts of castile soap. (Another great way to avoid triclosan!)  It’s also great for kids because it makes a lot of fun bubbles to wash with, but without the nasty chemicals in popular kids’ soaps like Kandoo.
  • Baby Wipes– I use castile soap and Tea Tree Oil mixed with water as a homemade solution for baby wipes.  These wipes are great for changing diapers, but also great just to use for wiping hands and faces after eating, for cleaning spots of spit-up or other stains off of clothing, just about anything you would use a disposable baby wipe for.(pour 1 cup of water a few squirts of castile soap and a few drops of tea tree oil, mix and pour over home made wipes)
  • Home made multipurpose cleanser – a good multipurpose cleaner is castile soap and Tea Tree Oil mixed with water in a spray bottle. (fill a bottle with water add a few squirts of castile soap and a few drops of tea tree oil)
  • Home made soft scrub– This is a great non-toxic cleanser for the bathroom.Ingredients
    3/4 cup baking soda (slightly heaped)
    1/4 cup castile soap (I use Dr. Bronners Peppermint)
    1 Tablespoon water
    1 Tablespoon vinegarMethod
    In a bowl, combine the baking soda and castile soap. Add the water and stir with a fork.Lastly, stir in the vinegar. The mixture will fizz a little. Stir to make a nice soft, paste-like, consistency. (This is important – the vinegar must go in last or else the scrub will be like sludge instead of a creamy paste.)

    Scoop out the scrub with a sponge and start cleaning.

    This scrub can also be used to clean the toilet.

The label on Dr. Bronner’s brand of castile soap is definitely interesting, and maybe even a little weird, when you read over it.  But, it does list lots of different uses for castile soap, some of which I have tried myself, and some of which I have not.

More uses for castile soap:

  • Use to wash your hair instead of shampoo. I did try it once but, didn’t feel great…I might try mixing with more oils next time.
  • Brush your teeth with it. I have made a homemade toothpaste that includes castile soap I will post soon:) 
  • Use for laundry. heard it works good but haven’t tried it yet.
  • Dishwashing liquid. I have read that some people squirt castile soap right into the sink full of water to wash dishes with.  I have tried a recipe of 1 cup castile soap, 1/2 cup water and 1 tsp. of lemon juice (or vinegar) to cut grease.  You can put this in an old dishwashing liquid bottle and shake it up before you squirt it into your dishwashing water.  Or, I put mine in a spray bottle and spray my dishes with it and then wash them. It works really well that way, and the spray bottle helps it to last longer.
  • The bottle also lists uses such as –  dentures, deodorant, aftershave, pets, silk, and car.  If you wanted to, you really could use it for just about anything and everything!

I really can’t recommend castile soap enough!  It may be more expensive than regular soap or body wash up front, but because it’s so concentrated, a bottle really lasts a long time.

And because it has so many different uses, you will probably end up saving money by using it, because you eliminate the need to buy multiple different products for different uses.

Leave a Reply

